Krish Ranjan
2 min readOct 31, 2020

--

Hi, I am Krish Ranjan. I am currently a freshman in high school. Some of my interests include coding, math, piano, and Artificial intelligence. I am interested in AI because it is a combination of two subjects I enjoy: math and coding. I also think that AI has many applications in the real world that can benefit humans and make our lives easier.

My experience with Inspirit AI was fantastic and made me excited about Artificial Intelligence. I was exposed to the many applications of AI and AI ethics. My instructor was Mr.Will Deaderick. He guided us through the theory behind computer vision and helped us with coding our very own AI. In the second week of AI Scholars, we coded AI that could take a video, deconstruct it into multiple pictures, and feed it into a convolution neural network (CNN). The CNN would output labels — what objects it has detected (car, bus, truck, and more) — and bounding boxes, where those objects are located on the image. The labeled images were then put together to remake the video, except this time it showed all the objects the AI detected. For me, it was fascinating to see how the AI could ‘learn’ what a car looks like or what a dog looks like without much hard coding.

In my blog series, I plan to write about how to use AI in computer vision, more specifically for object detection. I will talk about how to code a convolution neural network to detect, classify, and locate objects on images and videos. I will also talk about reinforcement learning in which an AI learns what to do or how to do something using rewards and penalties.

I welcome anyone who is interested in AI or wants to explore something new to read my blogs. I hope that it will get you interested in AI and maybe learn something new!

Krish Ranjan is a Student Ambassador in the Inspirit AI Student Ambassadors Program. Inspirit AI is a pre-collegiate enrichment program that exposes curious high school students globally to AI through live online classes. Learn more at https://www.inspiritai.com/.

--

--